Car shopping

Shopping for cars can be pretty frustrating, especially when you’re on a budget.  One of my recent ventures into the world of buying vehicles has caused much laughter as I sifted through online ads.  Let me tell you, I’ve seen some pretty funny stuff out there. Here are examples of some of the ads I’ve seen:

I got all this new stuff for it… and there’s this one problem…

One of the funniest trends I’ve noticed with people selling cars is that they’ll try to sell it to you by proclaiming all the new stuff it has and then mentioning after the fact that the car has a really big maintenance issue.  For instance, a 95 VW Jetta is priced to sell at $500 with the following:  “I just got new tires installed on it.  Needs a new engine, but still runs.”  Really?  Shouldn’t you be paying me to take the car off your hands? New tires do not make all of us more apt to purchase your barely functioning vehicle.

It’s kind of expensive and you’ll need to tow it

I was browsing the used car ads on Craigslist and ran across one or two that went along these lines:

“I’m selling this vehicle for $4500. It was running really well until it just didn’t turn on one morning. I’m willing to negotiate price, but you’ll need to tow.”

In other words, I don’t have enough money to get my car towed to a place and get it repaired, so I’ll see if I can get some gullible person out there to do the dirty work for me. And in the meantime, I’ll get enough money to buy a decent used vehicle. Hahahaha!

Pretty old, well kept, high mileage

One of the ads I´ve seen a lot deal with high mileage vehicles that the person has maintained well. This is one that I´m personally more likely to respond to. At least they seem respectable.  The only question I would ask is whether the car is due for some recommended maintenance that the current owner doesn’t want to pay for.

I´ve had it for a short period of time, want to sell

One of the super fishy ads I´ve seen consist of someone who has listed a car that they´ve had for a very short period of time and they want to sell, but don´t tell why.

“I´ve got a 2001 Toyota Corolla that I bought not too long ago and would like to sell it! It´s a deal at $1,500!”

What they fail to mention is that it has high mileage and needs the timing chain replaced.

 

Well, there you have it! Shopping for a vehicle is not the easiest task in the world. Hopefully, in sifting through some of these ads, I can find something that´s actually reliable!

2 thoughts on “Car shopping

Leave a Reply

