Bucket List

Recently, in a conversation with my son, he asked me what was on my bucket list (no doubt inspired by my friend who shared hers with him). I got to thinking and decided that it was high time I made one. I mean, at one point I made a list of all the things I wanted to do before my 30th birthday, but as that day looms ever closer, I haven’t met any of them that I can think of.  So, here’s my bucket list, (the incomplete one.)

  1. Publish a novel.
  2. Go skydiving
  3. Take a cross country road trip
  4. Live abroad for at least a year
  5. Get my doctorate
  6. Learn a new musical instrument
  7. Play trumpet in a salsa band
  8. Join a jazz band
  9. Take a ride in a hot air balloon
  10. Go snorkeling (and finally conquer my fear of the ocean all at once)
  11. Learn a 3rd and 4th language (3rd language already in progress…)
  12. Learn how to cook dishes from as many countries as possible.

These are really just a few of the things I’d really like to do. But a bucket list doesn’t really encompass non-tactile goals, in my opinion. I think of these as long term goals more than anything – not really items one puts on a bucket list because they’re never really finished. Like finally having inner peace. Or coming to terms with the fact that the world and the people in it will never meet my own lofty ideas of what they should be. Even I have trouble meeting my own criteria for what I should be.

One reason that I haven’t made a bucket list in the past is that it also feels somewhat limiting.  My goals for myself may change in the near future, and why limit myself to just this list?

So now, I’m going to make a list of things I HAVE accomplished:

  1. I have a son.
  2. I have a job
  3. I graduated with an MA in Spanish Literature
  4. I’ve mastered a second language
  5. I’ve visited Mexico
  6. I’ve written lots of short stories
  7. I made my own Halloween costume last year (with almost no previous experience with a sewing machine)
  8. I installed a radio in my car with minimal male assistance (I stripped some screws…)
  9. I learned how to cook Mexican food (authentic)
  10. I’ve read the whole Wheel of Time series.
  11. I started a blog.

I realize more and more that I’m really focused on the future and sometimes, for this reason, I forget the past.  I have forgotten the past.  I’m the first person in my family to graduate from college with a graduate degree.  I think that’s pretty amazing in and of itself.  Sometimes it’s nice to remind myself what I have overcome – this realization helps me to push forward and strive for the best for myself in the future.

Leave a Reply

