Just Another Weekday Morning

So, I got a writing prompt from the following website, http://www.creative-writing-now.com/short-story-ideas.html, and decided to post the story that I wrote.

 

Just Another Weekday Morning

I sat in my chair at breakfast, newspaper in hand, coffee at the ready.  I imagined that, with my glasses perched upon my nose, my navy and tan oxfords and dress pants I looked rather smart and dashing.

I peeked over the top of the newspaper, still imagining.

“Mom!  What’s my horoscope say?”

Yep, that’s my 10 year old daughter asking.  My fantasy faded as I looked up Libra.

“Libra, it’s going to be a rather boring day for you.  But that’s how you like it, is it not?  Perfectly balanced with a dash of petunias and maybe a white rose will make it into the mix.  Just follow your gut when you have to make that oh-so-important decision.”

“That makes no sense.  What’s yours say?”

“Gemini – your evil twin is gonna stop by your office today and remind you of all the great things you left behind in an earlier life – riding on motorcycles and running from the law.  Be prepared with your natural wit and you’ll make it through unscathed.”

Lissy giggled, “Mom, you’re so funny.  What’s it really say?”

“Nothing factual or worth repeating.”

I set the paper down and looked at my watch.

“Ok kiddo, gotta speed it up a bit.  We’re gonna be late!”

I took my empty cup and plate to the sink and headed to the bathroom to partake in the morning ritual of applying makeup.  Now, I must mention I don’t do this that often.  I really don’t like wearing makeup that much – but, as a professional, you have to fit in.  So, here goes – a bit of eyeshadow in plum, mascara.  I always make sure to wear a set of earrings that makes my face look lighter as well.  It’s a trick I’ve learned.  Means I don’t have to wear as much makeup.

Lissy looks in from the doorway.

“Mom, I’m so glad that you don’t wear as much makeup as Rachel’s mom.”

“Well, I’m glad I don’t have to like Rachel’s mom.  But don’t worry – someday soon you’ll be initiated into the realm of womanhood.”

Lissy looks up at me as though I’ve grown a second head.

She comes into the bathroom to brush her teeth.

“Is your tooth still wiggly?”
“Yeah, I think it’s going to come out.”

“Well, why don’t you wiggle it a little more?”

I watch as she wiggles the tooth that suddenly pops out of her mouth.  She looks down at it and quickly grabs a towel to staunch the flow of blood.

“Well, that was easy.”

“I’m going to put it under my pillow tonight,” she states with a smile on her face.

“You should put it on the table beside your bed instead.”

“Why?”

“Well…” I shrug, a guilty look upon my face.

I look down – watch reads 8:10.

“Ok, come on, gotta finish with those teeth!”

I reach over to get my toothbrush and my elbow knocks the tooth off the sink and into the drain.  Lissy tries to get it, but with  her own hands tied up in brushing, she fights a losing battle.

Her eyes suddenly get big, brilliant.

“MOM!  YOU LOST MY TOOTH!”

“I’m sorry.  But it was just a tooth.”

She makes no reply, a scornful look upon her face.

“You can’t be mad at me forever,” I state, “When I’m old and can’t walk, you won’t be mad at me.  So why bother being mad at me now?”

She knows I’m kidding around – can’t really help the sarcasm.  I clean my toothbrush and place it in the holder just as she starts coming at me with her tickle fingers.

“No!”  I grab her hands keeping them away from me.  I’m moving backwards out of the bathroom, strategically moving down the hall to the living room where her backpack awaits on the sofa.  She struggles free just as we get to the sofa and I grab the backpack and sling it onto her back for her.

“Gotta run honey bun!”

“You are no fun mom!”  She says, tickle fingers extended.

“And you’re going to be late for school.”

“Aaaah!”  Lissy screamed as she leaves the house.

Today is going to be a good day.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Just Another Weekday Morning

Leave a Reply

