The Case of the Missing Legos, Part 1 – Writing 101, Day 4, Serial Killer

Disclaimer:  I am attempting to make this into a serial, 3 part post, as per the “twist” challenge through Writing 101.  Enjoy!  Feedback is always welcome!

 

Today, I completely lost it.  In the car on the way home, I must have yelled curses to most of the people on the road.  One was too slow.  One was following me too closely.  Then there’s the dumb student who doesn’t look before walking across the crosswalk.  “Hey ditz,” I think to myself, “if you want your brains plastered on the front of my car, just keep on!”  I was in a rage.

This doesn’t normally happen to me – I’m cool, rational.  Logical.  I don’t get emotional, but by God, I’d really had it by the time I came home.  You see, I work in a position where I have to deal with other people’s problems all the time.  All.  The.  Time.  It’s bad enough listening to these insipid idiots complaining about how they didn’t get what they wanted, didn’t deserve the outcome… etc, etc, etc.  That’s what happens when you don’t do your research and make good choices.  I’m currently looking for something that is a bit quieter, where I don’t have to deal with people that much, but in this economy … well, who knows if that will ever happen.

Anyway, after listening to a million people rant relentlessly about how unfair their lives are, I really needed a break.  Alas, I apparently wasn’t going to get that.  Upon arriving to my house, I noticed something was askew.  I took in my surroundings and realized a few things – my front door was ajar, my trash can was turned over and my cat was rolling around in the grass in the front yard.

“Come here, Chester,” I called, putting my hands out.  Chester looked back at me and I swear that, had he been human, there would have been a smirk on his face.  He got up on and jauntily walked away from me, tail in the air.  I felt a headache begin to form.  This wasn’t good.

I headed to the front door and opened it up, expecting everything to be thrown around, but to my surprise, it was pristine.  Had I forgotten to lock the door this morning?  Did Chester figure out how to open the door by himself?  Had I left the door cracked open?

I went throughout my house, to the kitchen, upstairs to my room and then my son’s room, looking around to make sure that everything was ok.  Upon entering my son’s room, I realized that one of his Lego sets was missing.  Perhaps he has stopped by after school to take it to his friend Robert’s house… I wasn’t sure, since it was a pretty rare set, but I decided to ask Luke about it when he got home.

I then proceeded to my normal evening routine.  I looked in my recipe binder to see if there was anything that popped out at me for dinner.  Mmmm… chicken enchiladas.  So good and just what I needed!  I took some ibuprofen to, hopefully, fend off the oncoming head ache and started with the enchiladas.

After I put them in the oven to bake, I proceeded to the living room where I lay down, got out my iPod and made sure to set it to ONLY classical Yo-Yo Ma.  The lilting strains of the cello filled my head and lulled my brain to a peaceful rest, otherwise known as sleep.

The front door slammed, jolting me out of my sleep.

“Hi honey, I’m hooooooome!” my husband boomed as he slammed the door behind him.

“Dad, I think you just woke mom up.”

“AAAAH!” I growled, getting up from my resting place and going to hug them both.

“So, Luke, did you come home earlier to take your Lego set over to Robert’s house this afternoon after school?”

Luke’s cheerful expression becomes suddenly clouded and he runs up to his room in a dash.

“I wonder what got into him?” my husband, Harvey, looks at me with a puzzled expression on his face.

“I noticed that it was missing when I came home.  I naturally assumed that he had taken the Lego set with him.”

“Oh…”

“Yeah.”

“Don’t worry honey, I’ll take care of it,” he replies, bounding up the stairs after Luke.

I go into the kitchen to check the enchiladas and realized that they had begun to smoke.  I took them out of the oven and upon looking at them, realized they were complete inedible.  Oh well, looks like we’ll have to go out for dinner tonight.

The boys come back downstairs – Luke is crying, his face splotchy and red.  My husband looks distraught as well, his arm draped around Luke’s shoulders.

“Well guys, looks like we get a treat tonight!”

Neither of them seems very pleased when I show them the burnt, tar-like remains of what should have been dinner.

“Luke, where do you think you’d like to go for dinner tonight?”

“Cici’s pizza!”

My husband and I exchange glances of horror – maybe I shouldn’t have asked.

“Ok then, let’s go!”

“Honey, maybe we could go somewhere that has healthier choices, like that new Mexican place down the street.”

“You mean El Guajolote Flojo?”

“Yeah, that place.  I went there with Marissa for a business meeting, the food was excellent!”

“What do you say Luke?  Want Mexican instead?”

“As long as they have hamburgers.”As we left, I noticed Chester meowing by the back door.  I opened the door to let him in and made a very interesting discovery…

5 thoughts on “The Case of the Missing Legos, Part 1 – Writing 101, Day 4, Serial Killer

  1. As far as cliffhangers go, that’s a good one. I think I woke my husband up with my ‘Noooooooo…’ I can’t wait to find out what happens.

    And I feel you about work. I hope things get less stressful for you.

  2. Pingback: The Case of the Missing Legos – Alternate Ending | The Lone Wolf

Leave a Reply

